Health and Social Care (BTech)

Key Stage 4

BTEC Tech Awards are designed to be taught alongside GCSEs, giving students a glimpse into a professional sector whilst teaching them transferable skills for life:

  • specifically designed for 14-16 year olds in schools
  • graded across Level 1 and Level 2 to recognise the achievements of all students
  • assessed using assignments and practical tasks to suit vocational students
  • count in the 'open group' of Progress 8.

Course Overview 

The Award gives learners the opportunity to develop sector-specific knowledge and skills in a practical learning environment. The main focus is on three areas which cover:

  • skills and processes, such as interpreting data to assess an individual’s health, and designing a plan to improve their health and wellbeing;
  • attitudes, namely the care values that are vitally important in the sector, and the opportunity to practise applying them;
  • knowledge that underpins the effective use of skills, processes and attitudes, including human growth and development, health and social care services, and factors affecting people’s health and wellbeing.

This qualification builds on and uses the knowledge and skills you are learning in your GCSEs, such as English. It will complement the more theoretical aspects covered by GCSE Biology or GCSE Psychology by allowing you to apply your knowledge and skills practically in a vocational context

Study of this sector at Key Stage 4 will complement GCSE study through providing an opportunity for practical application alongside conceptual study. There are also strong opportunities for post-16 progression in this important sector.

Examination Board and Syllabus 

Edexcel GCSE in Health and Social Care (2HSO2). 

More information can be found on the Edexcel website:


The qualification consists of three components that give learners the opportunity to develop broad knowledge and understanding of health and social care at Levels 1 and 2.

Internal assessment

Components 1 and 2 are assessed through internal assessment. Internal assessment for these components has been designed to relate to achievement of application of the conceptual underpinning for the sector through realistic tasks and activities.

Synoptic external assessment

There is one external assessment, Component 3, which provides the main synoptic assessment for the qualification. Component 3 builds directly on Components 1 and 2 and enables learning to be brought together and related to a real-life situation.




Final assessment



Human Lifespan Development

Internal assessment 

1 / 2


Health and Social Care Services and Values 

Internal assessment 

1 / 2


Health and Wellbeing 

External Synoptic assessment 

1 / 2

Further Study and Careers in Health and Social Care

Health and Social Care GCSE would be a good foundation for studying a variety of courses at level 3: A levels in Health and Social Care, Psychology, Sociology, Biology or BTEC in Children’s Care Learning and Development. It would also lead to a wider variety of apprenticeships or vocational courses at college.  It would prove useful for careers such as social work, caring for others for example young children, the elderly or those with specific needs as well as early years, teaching, policing, health care assistants, doctors, nurses and many other related medical professions. It is important that students are interested in the course content from the outset and are prepared to complete an external placement.